NATO Countries List 2023, What are the powers of NATO?

NATO Countries 2023 List, What is NATO and how powerful it is? NATO, i.e., North Atlantic Treaty Organization, is the world’s largest military organization, the presence of this organization is spread all over the world due to member countries and sometimes because of regional treaties. Its most prominent member in America, while the smallest member is Iceland, with 200 soldiers.

It is an intergovernmental military alliance known as the North Atlantic Alliance. After World War II in 1945, the United States and the Soviet Union became two superpowers. Seeing the potential threat in Europe, France, Britain, the Netherlands, Belgium, and Luxembourg signed a treaty known as the Treaty of Brussels.

In this, they stipulated that in case of an attack on any country, they would give collective military assistance and socio-economic support to each other. At that time, this organization was signed by 12 countries, and how this organization is an organization of 30 countries.

What is NATO?

what is nato

NATO is a worldwide military organization, and it is considered to be the largest organization in the whole world. The current Secretary-General of NATO is Jens Stoltenberg, who assumed this position on 1 October 2014, and it is on 30 September 2022 (i.e., Nine-month of this year). And its headquarter is in Brussels, Belgium. NATO stands For North Atlantic Treaty Organization. 

This is an organization of armies of 30 countries, in which military aid is provided. In this organization, the army of one country is sent to another country, and they are taught the rules of international training. Strict orders are given to solve every situation. This military organization NATO was established on 4 April 1949.

Which countries are included in NATO?

There are 30 countries on the NATO Members List, out of which 27 countries are from Europe, one in Eurasia, and two in North America. Let us see the names of these countries:-

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Netherlands
  • Italy
  • Norway
  • United States of America
  • England
  • Portugal
  • Iceland
  • Luxembourg
  • Canada
  • France
  • Turkey
  • Greece
  • Germany
  • Spain
  • Hungary
  • Czech Republic
  • Poland
  • Estonia
  • Bulgaria
  • Lithonia
  • Latvia
  • Slovakia
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Croatia
  • Albania
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia

Why was NATO established?

After the Second World War, the economic condition of Europe became very bad, and the living standards of the people living there became low. Then this organization was established on 5 April 1949 so that the economic level of the citizens there could be improved.

How powerful is NATO?

So only 30 countries are included in NATO, If we talk about the most powerful country in this, then the name of the United States comes at the top, and America is good in terms of military power. And if there is any other country with military power after America, then it is Russia, which is the reason.

Ukraine weakens military power in the war between Russia and Ukraine because Ukraine has very little military power. In simple words, Ukraine is in 22nd place in terms of military force. Ukraine has only 2.5 million soldiers in the Ukraine war, whereas Russia has 800,000 soldiers.

Who is funding NATO?

NATO Countries List 2022

All the member countries of NATO give funding to NATO, and most of the financing is done by the United States of America. For this reason, it is also called Read of NATO funding because this country does a lot more budget in NATO than all the countries’ funds. The United States will have three-quarters of its expenditure in 2020. let Talking about the expense of 2020. 57% of the world’s total spending in all military spending of NATO was funded by the United States.

Who can become a member of NATO?

When NATO was established, the condition was laid that only European countries could become a part of NATO; that is, to become a member of NATO. It was necessary to have a European country, although NATO tried to increase the number of its lands by other countries. Morocco, Egypt, Algeria, Jordan, and Tunisia are also NATO allies, and NATO has also played a role in Pakistan and Afghanistan.

NATO structure

The structure of NATO is made up of four pieces, which are as follows:-

  • Council
  • Deputy Council
  • Defense Committee
  • Military Committee

Why did India not become a member of NATO?

India isn’t a member of NATO. Being a member of NAM, India did not become a member of NATO, and India kept an equal distance from both the poles of the world.

Join the Discussion