Delhi MCD Mayor Election Result 2023 (Live) Delhi Mayor Name by AAP, BJP

AAP vs BJP – Who won Delhi MCD Mayor Election? Live Updates & News about Delhi Mayor Election Result 2023: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were going to go head-to-head today in the much-anticipated race for the mayor of Delhi. But as soon as the house met, a fight broke out between the AAP and the BJP over which council members should be sworn in first.

After hours of noise and chaos, the house stopped meeting. So, neither the inauguration nor the election of the mayor could happen today. The Delhi Congress has already stated that it won’t candidate for mayor in the upcoming election for the city’s governing body.

एमसीडी मेयर का चुनाव आज नहीं होगा। ढाई घंटे तक सदन में हंगामा हुआ। इसके बाद सदन की कार्यवाही को स्थगित हकर दिया गया।

Anil Chaudhary, the head of the Delhi Congress, said that the party has decided uniformly not to back the Aam Aadmi Party or the BJP in the voting for mayor, deputy mayor, and the house’s leader in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi.

Delhi Mayor Election Result Latest Update

delhi mcd mayor result

Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal wrote a letter to the LG after the uproar in the House. CM Kejriwal accused LG of bypassing the elected government. On the municipal issue, Kejriwal wrote that let the elected government work for 2 crore people.

“Congress chose three Elected members to be in charge of the party in the MCD through a secret vote. While Nazia Danish will be in charge of the MCD party, Sheetal will be her deputy, and Shagufta Chaudhary will be responsible for making sure everyone follows the rules “Chaudhary said.

The mayoral election was supposed to happen a month after the votes were counted on December 7, 2022. By winning 134 seats in the MCD elections, the AAP ended the 15-year rule of the BJP in the city council. The Bharatiya Janata Party came in second with 104 seats, and the Congress came in third with just 9 seats in the 250-seat Municipal House.

Who are BJP & AAP’s Candidates for Delhi Mayor Position?

Shelly Oberoi is one of the candidates that the AAP has put forward alongside Ashu Thakur. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has chosen Rekha Gupta, a councillor who has served Shalimar Bagh for three terms, as its candidate for mayor. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has put forth the names of Aaley Mohammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar as candidates for the office of deputy mayor. They will face off against Kamal Bagri, who is a member of Ram Nagar.

However, the elections to the post of mayor and deputy mayor have been bogged down in controversies, with the AAP crying foul over the decision of the Delhi lieutenant governor to assign BJP council member Satya Sharma as the committee chair of MCD and later the appointment of 10 councilmembers to the civic body. This decision was made before the elections to the post of mayor and deputy mayor was held.

After the uproar over the Municipal Corporation of Delhi Mayor Election, the oath of councillors and voting for the Delhi MCD mayor will not be held today.

Join the Discussion